This program provides education to C.N.A.’s in preparation to administer specific medications in long-term care facilities. Upon successful completion of the course, students are able to take the state exam to become a Kentucky Medication Aide or CMT. This is an 105-hour course consisting of lecture, laboratory practice, and clinical experience.
- The classes are held every other Thursday and Friday from 8:00 am – 4:30 pm for a total of 8 days.
- 2 days of clinical experience at a designated clinical site must be completed at the end of the course. This will be scheduled once classes begin.
Tuition, textbook, required liability insurance fee =$650
The state exam cost is the responsibility of the student (or sponsoring health care agency) to pay this fee directly to the testing center.
- $200.00 plus insurance cost due on day of enrollment. Remaining balance due on or before the first day of class.
- Payments must be made by money order, certified check, Visa, or Mastercard. No personal checks will be accepted. On-line courses must be paid in full at the time of registration using a credit or debit card or by using a Pay Pal account.
- If tuition and fees are being paid through a health care agency, all payments must be made by the agency before a transcript or certificate of completion will be released.
- There is no refund on any of the tuition or insurance fees.
- If a student misses any of the scheduled classes, he / she must contact the school to arrange for a make-up day at the next available opening. If classes are full, the student may have to wait until a vacancy opens in future classes. The student will be charged a $50.00 no-show fee for each day missed and must be paid prior to rescheduling any make-up day(s). If a sponsoring health care facility is paying the fees, then please note that there is no refund of any of the fees. The course must be paid in full even if a student drops or never attends the course.
- Non-refundable deposits can be made before enrolling into a scheduled class. However, once a deposit is made, the student has 90-days to start the class. After 90 days, the deposit will be forfeited and will not be refunded.
- All students must purchase the liability insurance before starting the class. This covers you while in the clinical setting. This will be purchased at the time of registering or enrolling into the course.
- Textbook will be supplied by the school at no cost to the student. However, the textbook must be returned upon completion of the course or there will be a $100.00 fee. No transcript or certificate of completion will be issued until all fees are paid in full.
- If you have a felony criminal conviction on record, you will not be accepted into the program. Failure to disclose this information on the application will result in termination from the program. Any monies paid will not be refunded. A criminal background check and abuse registry check will be completed as part of the enrollment process. If you have been listed on the Kentucky Nurse Aide Abuse Registry, you will not be allowed to complete the course. Any monies paid will notbe refunded.
- Any student requiring any adaptive learning devices must provided and paid for by the student. The school must be notified in advance for preparation and must be noted on the application. The school will attempt to provide reasonable accommodations to any student.
- All students will be required to submit proof of a negative Tuberculin PPD skin test (or chest x-ray for positive reactors) on or before the first day of class. If the student fails to provide this documentation, they will not be allowed to start class. Any monies paid will not be refunded. Failure to provide proof of a PPD skin test or equivalent will result in the student not being allowed to proceed with the clinical portion of the course until appropriate documentation can be submitted by the student. Applicants may contact their personal physician or clinic for a PPD skin test. If you need a referral to have this completed, please contact the school.
- No uniforms are required. Classroom attire is casual, but no shorts, t-shirts, or sandals of any kind. Pants, casual shirt, and tennis shoes are acceptable. Coats or sweaters are acceptable for cold weather days. Keep jewelry to a minimum. No heavy colognes or perfumes.
- During clinical days, students must wear either black or khaki pants (no jean material) with a simple black or white polo shirt. Must wear white or black tennis shoes (leather uppers). No open heel or open toe shoes will be allowed. Must wear a wrist watch. No heavy colognes or perfumes.